Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh

Talks

Weekly Colloquium Series, Spring 2015

Archive of past colloquium series

*All talks will be held from 3pm in 1501 Wesley W. Posvar Hall for the remainder of the semester.

................................................................................................................

Friday, January 9
Hector Ramirez-Cruz
Comps defense: SPANISH UNACCUSATIVE CONSTRUCTIONS WITH SE AND SYNTACTIC OPTIONALITY IN NATIVE AND NON-NATIVE ORAL NARRATIONS


Friday, January 16
Holman Tse
Comps defense: Variation and Change in Four Contrastive Vowels in Toronto Heritage Cantonese


Friday, January 23
Alan Juffs, Matt Kanwit
CV/Resume Workshop


Friday, January 30
Anke Lüdeling, Wesley W. Posvar Hall 1500
Studying Morphological Productivity in Learner Corpora


Friday, February 6
Lauren Collister
Open Access: What it is, why you should care, and how being Open can build your scholarly profile


Friday, February 13
Zhaohong Wu, Wesley W. Posvar Hall 1501
Comps defense: Concept mediation in translation from L2 to L1: testing a hypothesized L1/L2-to-concept category facilitation effect


Friday, February 20
Edward Lin, Voci Technologies
Speech analytics: Using Linguistic and Non-Linguistic cues in phone calls to provide business intelligence


Friday, February 27
Matt Kanwit
Después de graduarme quiero viajar a Europa: Learner development of lexical futures in Spanish​


Friday, March 6
NO COLLOQUIUM
NO COLLOQUIUM


Friday, March 13
NO COLLOQUIUM
Spring Break


Friday, March 20
Penny Eckert
TBA


Friday, March 27
Noriyasu Harada Li
Comps defense: The influence of moraic structure on L2 English syllable-final consonants


Friday, April 3
Katherine Martin
TBA


Friday, April 10
Seiichi Makino, Princeton University
How and why do we repeat?
--- A case study of Japanese ---


Friday, April 17
Frankie Johnson
Comps defense


Archive of past colloquium series